Oatmeal Waffles

Alright so here’s the deal, I love breakfast.  I love everything about breakfast (except maybe eating it super early in the morning).  But I love breakfast food.  For my last couple birthday meals I have chosen breakfast places.  And, Fred and I have brunch at the coney down the street from our house every Sunday.  I’m not ashamed that the people know who we are.  I’m also not ashamed that they know that I want a water and a regular coffee with my brunch buffet.  Nor am I ashamed that the crepe making guy knows we like strawberries and bananas in our crepe with caramel sauce on top but not inside the crepe.  Breakfast is f***ing delicious!  Excuse my language there but it is.

I can also tell you that Original House of Pancakes in Royal Oak has the best pancakes ever.  And the omelets at National Coney Island in Royal Oak are better than other coney omelets.  And if you want a ridiculous crepe (also expensive) take a buddy and go to What Crepe? and order a savory crepe and a sweet crepe and share them.  If you’re spending the money, you should also get a Bloody Mary or a Mimosa.  Or both.  Who is going to judge you?  Not me!  The Orange Jalapeno sauce at What Crepe is ridiculous and you need to eat it on everything.   Seriously.  I’m not kidding.

Anyway, enough about my love of breakfast!  Here’s a recipe for Oatmeal Waffles!

Oatmeal Waffles:
1 cup oats (I used quick oats but old fashioned would probably also be fine)
1/4 cup coconut flour
1/4 cup all purpose flour
1/2 teaspoon baking powder
1/2 teaspoon cinnamon
3 large eggs
1 teaspoon vanilla
3 Tablespoons honey
2 Tablespoons vegetable or canola oil
1/2 cup milk

In a medium bowl, wisk together all your dry ingredients – oats, flours, baking powder and cinnamon – and set aside.  In a larger bowl wisk together the rest of the ingredients until combined.  Then add your dry ingredients to the wet ingredients and mix to combine.  Your batter will be pretty thick.  Spoon the batter into your preheated waffle iron and cook until the light goes off.  Waffles should be golden and slightly crispy.  I prefer my waffles with butter and syrup but you could also top them with strawberries or peanut butter or jam or whatever you want!

They are very filling!  Enjoy peeps!

OatmealWaffles

Leave a Reply

