Chocolate Chip Buttercream

I literally just spent an hour and a half watching Jenna Marbles videos on youtube.  If you don’t know what I’m talking about; open a new tab, type in “youtube.com” and search for “Jenna Marbles.”  I warn you, she uses the f-word A LOT so if you are offended by that type of thing, it might not be for you!  I find her to be completely relatable and entertaining.

I downloaded the rest of the Monsters and Men album from the iTunes the other day and of course have been listening to it on repeat and will continue to do so until I am so incredibly sick of the songs that I never want to listen to them again.  Am I the only person who does this?!  I can’t be.  Life is hard.

UGH I GOT TOOTHPASTE ON MY SHIRT!

Any who.  MY BFF HAD HER BABY and he is just the sweetest little baby nugget ever!  I mean, I will always be partial to my godson who is probably the cutest kid I’ve ever seen in my life.  But little Baby S just snuggled for the whole 2.5 hours Fred and I held him.  What a good little guy!

So these cupcakes.  Yellow cake.  Box mix, plain and simple.  Maybe one day I’ll make you real cupcakes.  I tried recently for peanut butter cupcakes but they were just so dry and not good.  It was sad.  So I went back to the box mix.

Chocolate Chip Buttercream:3 sticks (1 1/2  cups) butter softened (I used two sticks of salted butter and one stick of unsalted butter)
4 cups powdered sugar
1 teaspoon vanilla
1/2 bag of mini chocolate chips

In your mixing bowl beat the butter on medium-high speed until really light in color and fluffy, about 2-3 minutes.  Your butter should be really soft when you start this process.  It will make your life easier.  Then gradually add the powdered sugar.  I added a half a cup at a time, mixed on low and then cranked up the speed to medium-high for a sec before adding the next half cup.  Once all the powdered sugar is in there, mix in your vanilla until the frosting is fluffy and creamy and delicious.  Then, fold or mix in on super low, the choco chips.  Since this isn’t really a pipe-able frosting, spread generous amounts on top of your cupcakes and enjoy!

ChocolateChipButtercream

Leave a Reply

