Spinach & Mushroom Frittata

Taking vacation days is hard.  Especially when I don;t go anywhere and I just have a staycation.  I have a problem that I can’t stop checking emails and working on things that need to be done and getting involved in things that are going on at work even when I’m not there.  Do you have this problem?  I experienced it yesterday which is why I bring it up.

But today is a new day.  So I checked a few emails this morning and fixed an estimate and then… I made breakfast.  Breakfast is one of my favorite meals.  I love going to restaurants for breakfast, I love making breakfat, I love breakfast for dinner and I love when other people make me breakfast.  Delicious.  And I also like trying new things for breakfast.  So this morning – Spinach & Mushroom Frittata.  It’s good and pretty quick and different than just eating eggs.  Because while I love eggs, sometimes scrambled eggs get boring.

Here we go!

Spinach & Mushroom Frittata
1 tablespoon olive oil
6-8 baby bella mushrooms
3 cups spinach, roughly chopped
9 eggs
1/4 teaspoon garlic powder
a sprinkle of paprika (I used smoked paprika but regular would also be fine)
salt and pepper to taste

Preheat oven to 375 degrees.  In a large frying pan, sauté mushrooms in olive oil until softened, about 5 minutes.  Then add the spinach to allow to wilt/cook down for a few minutes.  In the meantime, crack your eggs into a large bowl and wisk then add the seasonings.  Once your veggies are cooked down a bit, add them to your eggs and mix to distribute.  Then pour into a pie pan, cast iron skillet or other baking dish.  Bake for 15-20 minutes or until eggs are set.  The frittata should be firm but not hard when you poke it in the middle.

SpinachAndMushroomFrittata

We like ours with hot sauce but you can also put avocado, cheese, guac or whatever you like on your eggs!  Delish!

Leave a Reply

