Lemon Poke Cupcakes

Remember when I said my orchid was still alive?  Well, it’s blooming now!  OMG LOOK!  And there are like 20 more buds that are going to bloom!  OMG!  I know it’s hard to tell but seriously, I am so excited!

OrchidBloom

So, these cupcakes.  Until today, I have never made this recipe as cupcakes.  Only as a 9×13 cake.  And, this is one of my favorite cakes!  I’ve had it for my birthday every year for the past few years.  It’s so lemony and so delicious and SO easy!  The cupcakes didn’t disappoint.  Trust me.  I think Freddy and I have eaten six of them already.  They don’t have frosting so they eat more like a muffin… Which is why we’ve eaten so many…

Lemon Poke Cupcakes

For the cake:
4 eggs
1 box Duncan Hines Lemon Supreme cake mix
1 small box instant lemon pudding
3/4 cup oil
3/4 cup water

First separate your eggs.  Put the whites in one large bowl and the yolks in another.  Beat the egg whites until stiff peaks form and set aside.  In the bowl with the yolks, beat the yolks and then add the rest of the ingredients and beat until smooth.  Then, gently fold in the egg whites.  Your batter should be smooth and fluffy.

Place cupcake liners in the cupcake pan and fill each only 1/2 way.  Since there are fluffy egg whites in your batter, these bad boys puff up. A LOT.  Then bake for about 23 minutes.  If you are making this as a cake, follow all steps but pour into a greased 9×13 pan and bake for 35 minutes.  The tops will be nice and golden brown.

You might be wondering, what makes these “poke” cakes?  Welp, when you take them out of the oven, poke them a bunch of times with a fork.  I know this seems counter-intuitive to stab a hot cupcake.  WON’T IT DEFLATE?! No.  It will be just fine.  You need the poke holes so the glaze will seep in.  Yes, glaze.

To make the glaze:
2 cups powdered sugar
2 tablespoons water
2 tablespoons melted butter
1/3 cup lemon juice

Mix all that together and pour over hot cupcakes or cake and let it soak in.  I had to give my cupcakes two coats.

LemonPokeCupcakes

Then, eat these bad boys.  If you like lemon desserts, these are for you!

Leave a Reply

