Chocolate Peanut Butter Cupcakes

I think it’s time to take down my Christmas decorations.  Mid-January… yep.  It’s time.  Maybe this week.  Maybe this weekend.  It will be a slow process I’m sure.

So, as you know I am on a bit of a health-kick.  New Year, new food.  It’s grand.  Really.  I don’t mind it.  But every one in a while, I need a break from the health food and I need a cupcake.  Just one.  Which means my work peeps also luck out because one cake mix makes almost 24 cupcakes and that is not one.  I took these cupcakes to work and I’m pretty sure they were gone before lunchtime!

Anyway, so the other day I wanted one chocolate cupcake with peanut butter frosting.  Classic combo.  Why mess with that?!

Start with a box chocolate cake mix.  Cheat peeps, it’s ok.  And again, it was 11pm when I was working on these bad boys.

For the frosting, I found this delightful recipe one day and have never looked back.  Seriously, it’s soooooo good!

Peanut Butter Buttercream
1 cup peanut butter
1 cup unsalted butter, softened3 cups powdered sugar
1 teaspoon vanilla
3 tablespoons milk or water (I used water and it was delightful)

Beat together the peanut butter and butter until smooth, beat in vanilla.  Then alternately mix in powdered sugar and milk/water until fluffy and spreading/piping consistency.  I piped the frosting on my choco-cakes using a 1M Wilton tip and then sprinkled them with chocolate shreds.

You cannot believe how good this stuff is!  Enjoy, friends!

ChocolatePeanutButterCupcakes

Leave a Reply

