Butternut Squash Soup

Dear “Arctic Vortex,”

I’ve had enough of you.  You don’t have to go away mad, just go away.  Please and thank you.

Love,
Amy

That’s my cold rant for the week.  Enough people are talking about it so I’ll stop.

So I made this soup yesterday and took leftovers for lunch today and as I was heating it up it occurred to me that this soup looks a lot like baby food.  Womp womp.  But then I realized it didn’t matter because it’s delish!

Butternut Squash Soup:
2 Tablespoons olive oil
1 large onion
4-6 cloves of garlic chopped/minced (I think we ended up using 6 but they were teeny tiny!)
2 14.5oz cans of chicken broth
a dash of dried ground thyme
2 Tablespoons balsamic vinegar
1/2 teaspoon garlic powder
1 large butternut squash
1/2 cup heavy cream
a tiny pinch of sugar
salt and pepper to taste
bacon and green onions for garnish

In a large pot, cook onions and garlic until soft.  While that’s cooking carefully cut the squash in half and scoop out the seeds and guts.  Then peel and cut into large cubes.  Sautee the squash with the onions and garlic for a few minutes to pick up that flavor.  Then add the broth, vinegar, thyme and garlic powder.  Cook for 25-30 minutes or until the squash is soft when poked with a fork.  While your squash is cooking, make some bacon.  As little or as much as you would like to top off your soup, drain on paper towel and set aside.

Now, here’s the fun part.  If you have an immersion blender, by all means, use it now!  But I don’t.  So I used my trusty blender.  If using a blender, scoop some squash and broth in the blender and blend until smooth and put in another pot.  You have to do this in batches.  I think I did three rounds of blending before I was done.  If you try to do this all at once your blender will explode and you will have lava soup all over your kitchen and your face and it will hurt.  Bad.

Once all your squash soup has been blended and it’s in the other pot, heat it back up and finish with cream.  Really between 1/3 and 1/2 cup of heavy cream is fine.  Add a tiny pinch of sugar and salt and pepper to taste.  Serve with chopped bacon and green onions for garnish.  Delish!

ButternutSquashSoup

Leave a Reply

