New Year’s Resolutions

It’s New Year’s Day.  So clearly I have decided to make unrealistic health-focused/weight-loss goals for 2014.  We all do this, right?  But really, I do have goals for this year.  I’m engaged and I have to start thinking about what I will look like in a wedding dress.  Lucky for me, we’re waiting over a year to get married so this gives me plenty of time.  And it’s time to get serious.

Hopefully I’ll post some healthier but still just as tasty recipes here so you can benefit too!  Not that any of you need it!  You’re all beautiful people and even if I haven’t met you, you are lovely and I appreciate you!

Let’s jump start this new New Year’s resolution!  I made this delish salad with homemade salad dressing.  This salad dressing is like shut-the-front-door good.  Seriously.  Probably because it has sugar in it.  But I figure you’re only using a small amount of it so it will be fine.  I also love mixing fruit in my salads – dried fruit, fresh fruit… it doesn’t matter.  And that way it’s harder to get bored with salad.  The typical diet food… womp womp.

Take a look!

Salad

This salad includes:
Romaine lettuce
baby carrots
dried cherries (you can sub these for dried cranberries or pomegranate seeds, etc)
sunflower seeds
goat cheese
green onions
Poppy Seed Dressing

Poppy Seed Dressing:
3 teaspoons poppy seeds
1 tablespoon Krazy Jane’s Seasoning Salt (It’s a thing.  That’s what it’s called)
1/2 cup sugar
1/2 cup vegetable oil
1/4 cup white vinegar

Combine all of the ingredients above in a mason jar or some other type of air tight container you can shake.  I use a mason jar because I have them sitting around.  Then shake, shake, shake away!

Leave a Reply

