OMG! A Post About Pizza

If you know me, you know why this post is shocking.  It’s about pizza!  One of the least shocking foods on the planet.  But, I am not a lover of pizza.  I don’t even know that I would say that I am a liker of pizza.  It’s on my list of foods that are fine, that I will eat but will very rarely choose.  Now, I need to clarify a bit.  I don’t care for deep dish pizza and Chicago style pizza is definitely out.  I’m fine with hand-tossed or thin crust pizza and I’m not a lover of just plain old pepperoni.

Now, Freddy happens to LOVE pizza.  So every once in a while I have to give in and eat it.  So after a long day of technical training at work, I thought, why not make homemade pizza!?!  So to Pinterest I went and found this five minute dough recipe.  Which should really be called “hour and five minute dough.”  It’s true, the dough takes only five minutes to throw together but it takes another hour to rise and proof.

It just so happened that I had no toppings except for some baby bellas and some delish whole and part-skim mozzarella left over from a photo shoot earlier this week, so I had to go to the store and get some goods anyway.  So I mixed the dough, covered it with a damp towel and off to the store I went.  I picked up some bulk italian sausage, some pepperoni and some sauce.  Which, it took me literally 20 minutes to find the sauce at the store.  I’m not even exaggerating!  And it was by the macaroni & cheese.  WHAT?!  That doesn’t even make sense, Kroger!

Anyway, Fred is a pro at throwing/stretching/tossing dough, so when I got home I let him take care of that while I cooked up the sausage.  Once he had the dough spread out, we layered the sauce, cheese, pepperoni, sausage, sliced mushrooms and more cheese and baked it at 425 for 15-17 minutes.  And then we had to wait to let it cool slightly so we didn’t burn our faces on lava cheese!!!  SO GOOD!  And I’m good on pizza for another month or so..

pizza

Leave a Reply

