Sugar Cookies

One of my favorite cookies EVER is the sugar cookie.  The humble, delicious, delicate sugar cookie.  I’ll eat them any day, any way!  I’ll even eat them on a boat, or with a goat or wearing a coat.  I will eat them here and there, I will eat them anywhere!

Have you ever seen Martha’s sugar cookies?  I mean, who has that kind of time?  I don’t.  But I still aspire to be just like Martha, except without the jail time, right?  So, I tell myself that spending hours decorating two dozen cookies is completely normal and everyone does this and there’s nothing wrong with this.  I have big plans for my cookies this year.  Let’s see where we started, shall we…

SugarCookies

Cute already!  I used a recipe I found on pinterest.  The original post is here and it goes like this (ps I had to half mine because I don’t have a kitchen aid mixer nor do I have bowls that are large enough)Here is the full recipe:

Sugar Cookies
2 cups of butter
2 cups of sugar
2 teaspoons vanilla
1 teaspoon almond extract
2 eggs
4 teaspoons baking powder
6 cups of flour

Preheat your oven to 350 degrees.  Then in a large bowl cream butter and sugar until smooth.  Beat in the extracts and eggs.  In a separate bowl, combine flour and baking powder and add a little at a time to the wet ingredients.  The dough will be very stiff. If it becomes too hard to mix with your mixer, dump the dough out onto your counter, wet your hands and knead the dough until it’s lovely and smooth.  Best part… you DON’T need to chill the dough.  I know, I know that’s crazy.  It’s not trust me.  Roll out your cookies!  I like mine a little thicker so I try to roll out the dough to about 1/4 inch.  Then cut and bake for 6-8 minutes.  Let cool and frost away!

We prefer the frosting that sets up and is more like a glaze than a frosting.  Here is that recipe:

Sugar Cookie Frosting
1 cup powdered sugar
2 teaspoons corn syrup
1/4 teaspoon almond extract
2 teaspoons milk (you’ll need more.  trust me)
food coloring

Mix it all together and color as you see fit.  This year we made red, yellow, green and white.
*Helpful tip – This frosting can dry out pretty quickly so whatever you’re not using, make sure to cover with a damp paper towel.

We had a cookie baking day last weekend and we all boarded the sugar cookie decorating train.  My frosting was a little thin this year so I didn’t get to pipe it like I wanted to, but that’s ok.  They are delicious and cute!  Check them out!

SugarCookies2 SugarCookies1

Leave a Reply

