My BFF is Having a Baby!

Her sister organized the whole thing and brought me in for the artsy-fartsy stuff.  I was in charge of a banner and favors.  Adorbs!!!!  I mean seriously, look at these!

ShowerFavors

Now, Danielle and Matt have decided they don’t want to find out what they are having so we got to use ALL colors!  Which makes me happy!  Because really, how cute are these popcorn favors!?  And they were really easy!  I bought the boxes here and then bought the bags at Michael’s.  Freddy brought me home some popcorn, I made some tags and voila!  Super cute baby shower favors!

Now, onto the banner.  We had the shower at a restaurant so we didn’t have to worry about food or decorations really but we still wanted to make a banner.  Now, you’ve probably seen a billion banners on Pinterest, I know I have!  I kind of modified the ones that I’ve found.  I like the idea of being able to move the letters as needed so I end up cutting little slits to allow the ribbon to pass through the letters.  Confusing?  It’s not.  I promise.  Here, I’ll show you.

ShowerBanner

For this banner I used all card stock.  The back piece was 4″x4″ white, no pattern, no texture card stock.  The colors on the next layer had a slight texture to them.  Honestly I’m not sure the exact size of the colored squares… I bought a cute little book of square multi-colored card stock and then cut 1/4″ off two of the sides.  For the letters, I freehand drew them and then cut them out on textured black card stock so the banner would read “Welcome Baby [insert last name here]!”  Then I used gel super glue to glue everything together.  Cut slits in each side of each letter and fed the ribbon through the slits.  This way they stay in place and hang nicely but I can still move them around if I need to!

Banner complete!

We also wrapped up some prizes for people who won games.  The prizes were all things that Danielle and Matt like – cooking, baking, beer, wine and coffee.  Here’s one of our coffee prizes.  Too bad I couldn’t win!

ShowerGift

All in all, the baby shower was delightful and the proud Ma and Pa to be were very happy and got tons of things to help with the newest addition to their family.

Ahhhhh!  I can’t wait to meet him or her!

Leave a Reply

