Impromptu Thanksgiving

Thanksgiving is one of my favorite holidays.  I know that you are all floored by this comment.  A holiday focused on food and it’s my favorite?!  Yep!  Well since I’m new to blogging land, I don’t have a ton of recipes to share with you for Thanksgiving… Maybe next year.

What did all of you do for Thanksgiving?  Hopefully spent it surrounded by family, friends and delicious turkey feasts! Freddy and I were supposed to head to my brother and sister-in-law’s house to celebrate.  This is the second year that they’ve hosted dinner and I’m so disappointed we couldn’t go.  You see, it was snowy and icy and they live in Grand Rapids and Freddy had to work early on Friday.  Not close to us.  And we didn’t want to chance getting stuck in GR.  Boooo!  My sister-in-law is an amazing cook and baker and I’m so sad we missed out!

But, Freddy and I made our own Thanksgiving dinner.  Thank goodness for Meijer!  We got everything we needed and we actually ate at normal dinner time!  Neither of us have ever cooked Thanksgiving dinner by ourselves so we were pretty much winging the whole thing!  But check out our turkey!  Not too bad for first timers, huh?!

Turkey

I had also volunteered to bring carrot cake cupcakes to contribute to dinner but since we didn’t go, we had a TON left.  I recruited Freddy to help me.  He loves grating carrots!  You can find the recipe for the cake and frosting here.  Instead of baking the cupcakes for 40 minutes, they only take about 25-30 minutes.  Check ’em out – aren’t they cute!

CarrotCakeCupcakes

I hope each of you had a very Happy Thanksgiving and to all of my Jewish friends, Happy Hanukkah!

Leave a Reply

