White Chicken Chili

Do you ever get concerned that people would judge you for the TV shows you watch?  Like if they knew you were obsessed with Finding Bigfoot, they would think you were crazy?  Personally I don’t care that much but I do know that only half of my TV viewing is predictable.  Clearly you all know that I watch Food Network and the Cooking channel religiously.  DUH!  I write blog posts about FOOD!  But I think that if I told you that my other faves are Finding Bigfoot, North Woods Law, Say Yes to the Dress and sports (of course) that you might be surprised.  I also like Chicago Fire but that one’s not as weird…  I’m watching Pitch Perfect as I write this and if you haven’t seen it yet, WHAT ARE YOU WAITING FOR!?  “Lesbi-honest” it’s delightful.  And hilarious.  Anywhooooo this has nothing to do with the recipe in this blog.

I recently inherited a slow cooker.  I had a baby one one but now I have a full grown, adult one and have been experimenting more and more because I can actually fit food in it.  Which means, I’ve used it twice. haha!

This recipe is super easy but take it from me, don’t wait until the morning to chop all your veggies.  Either do it the night before or wake up earlier so you have more than 10 minutes to throw it all together.  I did it in 15 but I almost lost a finger so I don’t recommend it.

White Chicken Chili

3 15oz cans of Great Northern Beans

8oz chicken – cooked and shredded

1 cup onions – chopped

1 1/2 cup peppers – chopped (I like orange and yellow)

2 jalapeno peppers – seeded and chopped

2 cloves of garlic – finely chopped

2 teaspoons ground cumin

1 teaspoon salt

1/2 teaspoon oregano

3 1/2-4 cups chicken broth

Combine all the ingredients above in a slow cooker.  Cover and cook on low for 8-10 hours or on high for 4-5 hours.  Top with sour cream, shredded cheese and crushed tortilla chips.

WhiteChickenChili

YES!  Delicious!

Leave a Reply

