Chicken Wild Rice Soup with Mushrooms

Alright folks.  It’s time to talk about soup.  The weather is getting colder and let’s be honest, soup is pretty much the best “keep me warm” food.  Am I right?!  Soup, in general, is insanely easy.  You just throw a bunch of stuff together and you get a delicious comforting meal!  I love soup.  So I make a lot of it.  Especially this time of year.  I also stock up on chicken broth every time I go to the grocery store just so I always have the option to make soup.

And now that I’ve spent all this time talking about how easy it is to make soup, I’m going to start the season off with one of the harder soups to make.  And by hard I mean you will need more than one pot/pan.  Two really.  Two.  So it’s still not hard.  And you can cheat.  YES!

Chicken Wild Rice Soup with Mushrooms

1/2 cup onion – chopped

2-4 cloves of garlic – finely chopped (I use more like 6 cloves but we love garlic here)

2 tablespoons olive oil

1/2 cup carrots

1/2 cup celery

1 package fresh sliced mushrooms

4 cups chicken broth

2 cups water

2 boneless chicken breasts – cooked and shredded (OR cheat and use a store bought rotisserie chicken)

1 4.5oz package Uncle Ben’s long grain wild rice

1/2 teaspoon salt (I use more throughout the cooking process)

1/2 teaspoon pepper (Again, I use more)

3/4 cup flour

6-8 tablespoons butter

2 cups milk (We use 1/2%)

Start by sauteing the onion, garlic, carrots, celery and mushrooms in the olive oil until just softened.  I add salt and pepper here because I like to add spice in layers so it has time to cook in.  Once the veggies are softened, add chicken broth, water and chicken and bring to a boil.  Then, stir in the rice reserving the seasoning packet.  Cover and remove from heat.  Let this sit for about 10 minutes before you start the next part so your rice is completely cooked through.

Now, make a roux.  In a medium sized saucepan melt the butter and then add the seasoning packet.  Cook until bubbly, just a minute or so.  Then add the flour, salt and pepper.  This will be a thick pasty blob.   Slowly add in the milk and cook until thickened, about five minutes.

Finally stir the roux into the soup and cook over medium heat until heated through and everything is combined and slightly thickened.  It’s good after about 10-15 minutes.  I also recommend ladling this into bowls and letting it sit for a few minutes before eating because the soup is LAVA HOT when it is done.

ChickenWildRiceSoup

This is one of our favorites.  SO GOOD!  Freddy and I have made it several times this year and will probably make it a ton more.  Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

