Upside Down Apple Pie

Remember when I said I had a billion apples?  Well, I’m still trying to plow through them.  And they are starting to get soft and I don’t want to throw them out.  These are honeycrisps people!!!!  You don’t just throw those away!  So I have to use them up.

I always have brilliant ideas at about 10pm.  Last night’s was upside down apple pie.  It’s kind of like apple crisp meets apple pie.  I wanted it to be a crisp but I didn’t have oatmeal so I had to improvise.

Here’s the recipe:

Three large apples – I used two Honeycrisp and one Granny Smith

1/3 ish cup of sugar

2 tablespoons brown sugar

1 teaspoon cinnamon

1/2 teaspoon nutmeg

Chop the apples and mix all the stuff together in a bowl.  Then dump it into a small pan, I think mine might be in the 9″x7″ range.  You could also probably use an 8″x8″.

For the topping:

1/2 cup flour

1/4 cup cubed cold butter

1 teaspoon cinnamon

2-4 tablespoons water

Mix the flour and cinnamon together then add the butter.  You’re going for like a dry crumble effect here so add the water as needed.  It should be between coarse flour and pea-sized in texture.  Once that’s done, dump the topping on the apples and bake at 400 or so for about 20 minutes.  The topping should be golden brown and the apples should be bubbly.

Enjoy with whipped cream or vanilla ice cream.

UpsideDownApplePie

Leave a Reply

