Apple Pie! ‘Merica!

Gosh I hate it when people say that.  But really, what is more American than Apple Pie?  Well, maybe baseball.  Which I also love.  Coincidence that apples are at their peak in October and the championship series’ are in October?  Perhaps but I like to think that really God is just providing us with an opportunity to make pie to drown our sorrows when the teams we love don’t make it to the World Series.  Oh Tigers, I’m talking about you.  What a great season and then just not enough in game six.  Booos-berry.  But rather than drink, I made pie.  Fred helped.  He’s better at making pie crust than I am.

Perfect crust  = perfect pie.

My ma and my aunt have always made THE MOST INCREDIBLE PIE CRUST.  Like, give me some crust and some whipped cream and I’m good.  Don’t even put stuff in it.  OMG, SO GOOD.  Want the recipe?  Of course you do.

4 cups of flour

1 Tbl. sugar

2 tsp. salt

1 3/4 cup shortening (1 cup regular flavor and 3/4 cup butter flavored)

1 Tbl. white vinegar

1 egg fork beaten

1/2 c. ice cold water.  I mean ICE cold.  Put ice in the water.  Do it.  Trust me.

Mix the flour, sugar, salt and shortening until fine crumbs form.  You can use a fork or a pastry cutter but we prefer to use our hands.  Then add the vinegar, egg and water.  You probably won’t need all the water so don’t just go all crazy and dump it all in.  Mix until just combined.  DO NOT OVERMIX.  I cannot stress this part enough.  If you do, your crust will be tough and sad.  Once combined, form it into a disk and let it rest in the fridge for 30-60 minutes before you roll it out.  This recipe makes four crusts and you can freeze what you don’t use right away.  SWEET!

In case you didn’t read about all the reasons why I love fall, I happened to have about 500 million apples.  That’s a lie, like 35 but still.  For the filling, I peeled a mix of honeycrisp and fuji apples (I think 10 or 11) and just cut them up into slice/chunk guys put them in a bowl with some regular sugar (about a half a cup), brown sugar (about a quarter cup), sprinkles of cinnamon and nutmeg and about three tablespoons of flour to thicken it up while baking.  Just toss all that together and then add a couple tablespoons of lemon juice to cut through all the sweet.  Roll out your bottom crust and get ‘er in your pie plate, then pour in your filling (you want it to be really mounded), roll out the top crust and place over top.  Then crimp the edges and cut slits in the top so the crust doesn’t weirdly bubble up.  That and it just looks pretty.  I baked my pie at 400 for about 45 minutes – 30 minutes with tin foil covering the edges and the last 15 with it removed.  Don’t make the mistake that we did and WAIT UNTIL IT’S COOL or the filling will run all over the place.  No matter, it was delicious.

Apple Pie Glamor Shot – Go!

ApplePieGlamourShot

Don Kelly, you’ll always be my Tiger!

Leave a Reply

