Simple Halloween Cupcakes

I had a hankerin’… a hankerin’ for cupcakes.  I only wanted one but it’s not like I can actually get away with making just one.  Fred might pout about not getting one.  So I made multiples.

I always cheat when it comes to the cake.  My cakes have a tendency to come out like flat, dense, yuck.  So I use box mix.  But my frosting, ooooooh my frosting, THAT is ALWAYS homemade.

For these cupcakes I used yellow cake mix and wanted delicious chocolate frosting.  So I went pinteresting…

You know what happens when you go pinteresting.  It starts out very focused.  Chocolate frosting.  This is what I want.  Oh, but look at these cupcakes with chocolate frosting.  Oh, these are decorated like little kitties!  Cats are weird, let me watch this video of cats stealing dog beds.  Dogs!  I want a puppy.  This one is wearing a costume, what am I going to dress up as for Halloween?  What was I looking for again?  Oh yeah, chocolate frosting!  Anyway…

So I found this recipe.  OMG looks amazing right?!  And I’m sure that it would be if I hadn’t messed it up.  I’m not really sure what happened but it definitely wasn’t the fluffy, delightful buttercream from her picture! Boooooo!  I mean, this is what happened… WHYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYY?!?!?!

FrostingFail

So, I gave up on that.  Since it was 11:45pm, I was losing my patience with this frosting.  I also had to make an SOS call to Fred to bring me home butter from work so I could make frosting in the morning.

Perhaps I’m just better at making frosting in the morning.  Or maybe easier frosting recipes are better for me…  I modified the one on the back of the Hershey’s Cocoa Powder box.  Mostly because I didn’t have enough cocoa powder.

1/2 cup of butter

1/2 cup dark chocolate chips

1/3 cup cocoa powder

3 cups powdered sugar

1/3 cup milk (I didn’t end up using all of this)

1 tsp. vanilla extract

Melt the butter and chocolate together (in the microwave is easiest).  Then alternately add powdered sugar and milk beating on medium speed.  I did a cup of sugar then a small amount of milk, repeat with sugar and milk and then just sugar.  I like my frosting thick so it stands up nice and pretty when I pipe it.  Finally, mix in the vanilla.

Then I just piped it onto my cupcakes using the Wilton 1M tip and sprinkled a few little orange and black Halloween sprinkles on them.  Oh, chocolatey delights!  Better right?!

HalloweenCupcake

3 thoughts on “Simple Halloween Cupcakes

  1. I’m loving reading your blog! Love you Ames :) Since you love homemade frosting I figured I would give you my mom’s “Super Secret” Wonder Frosting recipe. As you can tell it’s not super secret! But it is my favorite! 1/3 c flour
    1 c milk
    1/3 shortening
    1/2 c butter
    1 c sugar
    1/4 tsp salt
    1 tsp vanilla

    -Blend flour and milk on medium, cook stirring constantly till bubbles—COOOOOOL
    -Cream shortening, butter, sugar until flufffffffy. Add vanilla and salt
    -Beat in flour mixture in portions till soft and FLUFFFFY

  2. Hey Jen why are you giving out our Super Secret Recipe.:) Oh well, Amy like she said cream until fluffffffy…..meaning cream the crap out of it due to sugar crystals. Then the funnest part is to add your food coloring to it. Jen and Jess loved picking out their own special birthday colors. Take Care:).

Leave a Reply

